Product Management

Product Management, Development and Strategy

Product Management, Product Strategy

Everything regarding products belongs to the core competency of a company. However, sometimes it just stops here with product management. Does this sound familiar? In day-to-day business with many presales agendas, strategic planning disappears, the R&D department runs away, the service department insists on “only I know my customer best,” the sales department gets too little support, and product management and marketing does everything except product marketing.

Management Framework

There are many approaches to an optimal product management framework—process oriented or pragmatic by function. Depending on the industry, it is advisable to develop a company-specific model. On the one hand, the framework defines the various stages like product lifecycle management, product roadmap processes, user experience and product backlog; while on the other hand, it dictates the interaction with the individual business areas such as marketing, R&D, finance, sales, etc.

Transformation

The old “Waterfall” method is out; “Agile” is in. Or did “Flow” already take the helm? How much Agile can a company tolerate? How does one implement Agile working methods in non-IT companies like hardware development? What are the acceptable methods and how should they be applied?

Processes

The process landscape includes strategic aspects such as the implementation of business case documents, innovation management, market strategies, roadmap planning, as well as the operational implementation of launch plans, marketing plans, and end-of-life plans. In the Agile world, feedback from the process phases—from idea to development, launch, market,retiring—play an important role.

New Products and Innovations

Whether business modeling according to the classic or canvas principle, there is no approach without product management as the main discipline. This involves value proposition design, sales markets and positioning of new product and services, incremental and radical innovation in the product area, customer backlogs, pricing, revenue streams, service creation partners, and system partners in a broader sense.

Product Management

Product Management, Development and Strategy

Product Management, Product Strategy

Alles rund um Produkte gehört zur Königsdisziplin im Unternehmen. Manchmal stockt es aber gerade hier, im Product Management. Kommt Ihnen das bekannt vor? Im Tagesgeschäft mit den vielen Presales-Agenden geht die strategische Planung unter, die R&D Abteilung gallopiert davon, die Serviceabteilung beharrt auf dem  „I-know-my-customer-best“ Faktor, die Salesabteilung sieht zu wenig Support im Product Managment und Marketing macht viel, aber kein Product Marketing.

Management Framework

Es gibt viele Ansätze für ein optimales Product Management-Framework – Prozessorientiert oder pragmatisch nach Funktionen. Abhängig von der Branche empfiehlt sich die Erarbeitung eines unternehmenspezifisches Modells. Im Framework sind einerseits die verschiedenen Stationen der klassischen PM-Aufgaben definiert wie Product Lifecycle-Management, Product Roadmap-Process, User Experience and Product Backlog; aber auch die Interaktion zu den einzelnen Unternehmensbereichen wie Marketing, R&D, Finanzen, Sales etc.

Transformation

Die alte „Waterfall“-Methode ist out, „Agile“ ist in. Oder hat „Flow“ schon das Ruder übernommen?  Wieviel „agile“ verträgt eine Organisation? Wie implementiert man agile Arbeitsmethode in Nicht-IT-Unternehmen z.B. in der Hardware-Entwicklung? Was sind passende Methoden und wie wendet man sie an?

Prozesse

Die Prozess-Landschaft beinhaltet strategische Aspekte wie die Erstellung von Business Case Dokumenten, Innovations-Management, Market-Strategien, Roadmap-Planung, wie auch die operative Durchführung von Launchplänen, Marketingplänen und End-of-Life-Plänen. In der agilen Welt spielen die Rückkoppelungen in den einzelnen Prozessphasen von Ideation bis Development – Launch – Market – Retiring eine wichtige Rolle.

Neue Produkte und Innovationen

Ob Business Modelling nach dem Canvas-Prinzip oder klassisch. Es gibt keinen Ansatz, ohne dass hier das Product Management als Disziplin die Hauptrolle spielt. Hier geht es um Value Proposition Design, Absatzmärkte und Positionierung von neuen Produkten und Services, inkrementellen und radikalen Innovationen im Produktbereich, Customer Backlog, Preisbildung, Revenue-Streams, Leistungserstellungspartner und System-Partner im weiteren Sinne .