Change Management

Change Management – Agile Leadership:

At each stage of my career, I have continually dealt with four topics relating to leadership:

Change Management

Companies must sometimes change their structure to achieve goals. This is no small task. The change management process has many dimensions. From resistance to fear to perseverance. From intrigue, to infighting, to integration and coming together. In the discipline of marketing and product management, managers must sometimes deal with big shots, divas, and lone wolves in the early stages. However, it’s exactly here that people must work together to preserve and protect the core know-how regarding products and processes. Therefore, it’s essential that all team members are heard and carefully introduced to change, and as a part of the change process, teams need an empathetic and experienced leader.

Leadership vs Old-style

Agile Leadership has much to with the ability to appreciate, tolerate, and accept opposing views. People are individuals and are able to think and act independently. Young people are light years ahead of their parents in their ability to process information, often possessing abilities the old style managers can only dream of. So why do we force them into unnecessary processes and busy work rather than let them realize their full potential? I see myself as 100% part of the team. My leadership style is—to put it the old fashioned way—participatively cooperative. The term “Agile” suits me well. My belief is that as a moderator, coach, and entertainer, I can lead a team of specialists to the next level—a level we define together with internal and external target groups.

X-Cultural

I have seen companies fail miserably as a part of their change management processes, or by entering new markets without appreciating the cultural Dos and Don’ts, or by not knowing how to best communicate internationally. Even carefully chosen words can fail if the target group doesn’t understand them. For example, publically evaluating the asian partner’s poor sales is a bad idea.

X-Gender, X-Age

The ideal team performance stems from a well mixed team of men and women, both young and older. That’s true in theory and in practice. However, one must sometimes help to develop the practice. Old bulls, male fantasies, junior-senior competition, etc., these things can be challenging, especially for young women, and especially in the B2B area, technical fields, and collectivist cultures. I enjoy working with young people, coaching them and putting them in key positions.

Change Management

Change Management – Agile Leadership:

In den Stationen meines bisherigen beruflichen Lebens habe ich immer wieder mit vier wiederkehrenden Führungsthemen zu tun:

Change Management

Unternehmen müssen manchmal ihre Strukturen ändern, um Ziele zu erreichen. Keine leichte Sache. Der Change Management-Prozess hat viele Dimensionen. Vom Widerstand über Angst bis Beharrnis. Von Intrigen, Vorauskämpfen bis Integration und an einem Strang ziehen. In den Disziplinen Marketing und Product Management sind mitunter Stars, Diven und Einzelkämpfer am Start. Gerade hier werden die Unternehmenswerte, das Miteinander und das Core-Know-how über Produkte und Anwendungen gehütet und gepflegt. Daher müssen alle gehört werden und behutsam an Veränderungen herangeführt werden. Als Teil der Veränderung braucht es eine aktive Mannschaft und eine empathische Leader-Natur.

Leadership vs Old-style

Agiles Führen hat viel mit der Grundeinstellung zu tun, das Gegenüber wertzuschätzen, zu tolerieren und zu akzeptieren. Menschen sind Individuen und sind im Stande eigenständig zu denken und zu handeln. Junge Menschen sind heute um Lichtjahre besser ausgebildet als ihre Eltern und besitzen eine Informationsverarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit, von denen so mancher „old-style Manager“ nur träumen kann. Warum sie also in unnötigen Prozessen und Kleinstaufgaben zwangsbeschäftigen und nicht das volle Potential nützen? Ich verstehe mich als 100%iger Teil des Teams. Mein Führungstil ist – um es altmodisch auszudrücken – partizipativ kooperativ. „Agile“ passt als Begriff irgendwie besser zu mir. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Überzeugung, dass ich als Moderator, Coach und Entertainer ein Team aus Spezialisten leite und auf die nächsten „levels“ bringe – die wir gemeinsam mit unseren internen und externen interdisziplinären Zielgruppen definieren.

X-Cultural

Ich habe Unternehmen im Rahmen ihres Change-Management-Prozesses oder bei der Positionierung auf neuen Märkte kläglich scheitern sehen, da weder das Grundverständnis für eine andere Kultur und deren Dos and Don’ts vorhanden waren, noch das Verständnis dafür da war, wie man „international“ am besten kommuniziert. Das beste „British English“ scheitert, wenn die Zielgruppe es nicht versteht. Den asiatischen Vertriebspartner öffentlich ob der schlechten Umsätze zu maßregeln – eine schlechte Idee.

X-Gender, X-Age

In der idealen Vorstellung ergänzen sich gut „durchgemischte“ Teams von jungen, alten, Frauen und Männern. In der Theorie stimmt das, in der Praxis auch. Allerdings muss man der Praxis manchmal nachhelfen: Platzhirsche, Sesselkleber, Männerphantasien, Junior-Senior-Irrsinn etc. Junge Frauen haben es mitunter schwerer. Speziell im B2B-Bereich, im technischen Umfeld und in kollektivistischen Kulturen. Ich arbeite sehr gerne mit jungen Menschen, setzte sie gerne an Schlüsselstellen und coache sie entsprechend.